Walk out on that limb?

Blessings come in all sorts of shapes and sizes and sometimes when they are least expected. I make no attempt to hide that I am a struggling single mom. There are months that my makeup money is all that gets us through (thank you for all my blessed customers for supporting me). I do what I can to make life happy, joyful and positive for my amazing son. This year I was worried about Christmas (money has been very rough due to circumstances beyond my control) and Monkey’s birthday is this weekend (so close to Christmas) and well, me being me, I wanted to make sure he still got goodies. I had a decent vendor event last weekend and that has assisted some with gift giving, but Christmas was still looking bleak compared to years past. I knew Monkey would be OK with it and wouldn’t complain, but I still wanted to see him have an good Christmas.

I have reached the point that I just put my faith in God and let it ride (especially this Christmas season). It’s all I could do, after all you can’t make money appear out of thin air. Christmas would just be the best I could do and we would be ok. But I still believed that God would somehow see us through. My goal in life is to succeed and sometimes faith alone is what allows that to happen.

And when you walk out on that limb of faith? What happens then? ? ?

MIRACLES! BLESSINGS! The amazing!


You see, my son attends a free after school program daily that helps him with homework and gives him something fun to do until I get home at 6:00 – 6:30 in the evening. He often helps out the admins there and does little extra things. He recently entered in a STEM project online to win tickets to a Ravens game through this program, but didn’t win. Well because of his huge heart, helping hand and determination, an angel blessed him. I should say angels, these two people went out of their way to get a permission slip filled out for him to attend something magical. All the while neither Monkey or I were allowed to know what, when, where or how.

So what was this magical, amazing experience??? My son was one of 60 kids in the Maryland area to be selected to get a $200 Target gift card…. but wait…. it gets better… He also got to meets Ravens players. Steve Smith Sr., of the Ravens (just in case you don’t follow NFL) hosted the 12th Annual Holiday Helpers last night and my son was one of those lucky recipients. My son got to go through the store with Ravens linebacker C.J. Mosley. And boy does my child know how to shop! He came home with 2 bags of goodies. He even bought his mama a beautiful sterling silver heart necklace that says Mom.


The poor child was so excited that he forgot to get pics with Steve Smith, Sr. & C.J. Mosley, but he will have memories to last a lifetime.

Sometimes you just have to let go, believe and walk out on the limb. Faith will keep you afloat and bring you more blessings than you could ever imagine.

Thank you Steve Smith, Sr., C.J. Mosley, Baltimore Ravens & Cheerleaders. You have eased my worries about presents under the tree this year.

One thought on “Walk out on that limb?

  1. Pingback: Leap of Faith – Live Loud Speak Softly

Leave a Reply

